Giuseppe Maria Crespi << Back

The Arrest of Christ.
C. 1687-1690.

Oil on canvas, 29 ½ x 36 13/16 in (75 x 93.5 cm).

Provenance:
London, Trafalgar Gallery.
France, private collection.

This picture, of great quality and in a perfect state of conservation, represents the captive Jesus flanked by his tormentors, just after his arrest, in a dark, nocturnal setting which the torch held by a soldier in the right foreground does nothing to lighten. The intensity of Christ’s expression – emotionally and mentally beyond the action since he is aware of what he will shortly have to suffer, absent, indifferent to his captors’ insults – is underlined by the choice of composition, which is closed into the small space that contains the protagonists of the drama. The work is obviously by a painter of importance: an artist entirely involved in the meaning of the story he must tell, with an intelligently developed natural talent that is clearly conveyed by the invention and magnificent truth of an unusually vivid, confident image. There is a telling contrast between the warm hues of Christ’s flesh, albeit partly in shadow, and the deep blue of the cloak and the red of the robe; and a remarkable pathos in the compositional scheme, with its compressed space, admittedly set in the open but limited by objects, creating a scene that has so much primordial significance for humanity. The qualities we have briefly described indicate the author of this splendid picture as Giuseppe Maria Crespi, the artist who, from the end of the 1600s to the 1730s gave back to Bologna its leading role – the historical role it had assumed with the Carracci and the Incamminati, and which remained the obligatory model for all talented artists, not only in Italy but in the whole of Europe, for two centuries. The work’s cultural roots are entirely inspired by Guercino – by his contrasts of light and shade, solid construction of forms and rich, solid handling of pigment: a master Crespi admired in his youth to the point of copying several of his most famous pictures. Indeed Crespi’s version of Guercino’s Saint Francis in Ecstasy with Saint Benedict, which appeared in the commemorative exhibition of 1948 conceived by Roberto Longhi,1 dates from his early years. This was when Crespi (who was then sharing a studio with Giovanni Antonio Burrini, after his apprenticeship with Domenico Maria Canuti and later with Carlo Cignani) was putting into practice the lessons learned from lengthy study of his Bolognese predecessors and during his travels in the Veneto, Parma and Modena, and Pesaro and Urbino, where – if we believe his own son Luigi, Zanotti and Lanzi – he spent time immersed in study.2 This studious period yielded pictures such as the Noli me tangere from the Mahon collection in London (fig. 1), which shares with the present work a sombre tonality of palette and the same sort of brushwork; and, even more so, the magnificent picture in San Salvatore in Bologna, the Saint John the Baptist Preaching (fig. 2), one of the first works to which the young, promising artist gave his all, and a true masterpiece.

Both the gospel episodes share some of the same qualities: the drawing is identical in the rendering of the drapery folds and anatomical description; the passage from shadow to light in the faces is very similar; and the description of figures in the immediate background is marked by the same swift white highlighting where details need to be accentuated. Even some moments of awkwardness (for example, in Christ’s hands) have a parallel in the Baptist mentioned above; we may thus proceed to the comparison with the extraordinary altarpiece in San Nicolò degli Albari, the Saint Anthony Abbot Tempted by Demons (fig. 3), Crespi’s first public success (1690), commissioned by Carlo Cesare Malvasia, to the last an expert in recognizing talent.3

I believe that the Arrest of Christ, which may therefore be considered an important addition to Crespi’s catalogue, can be dated a little before the Saint Anthony – that is, somewhere between 1685 and 1690, the most intensely Baroque period of this master. One must also remember what Luigi Lanzi wrote about how he painted, using terms not intended as positive but which recreate the creative process for us: Crespi had the habit of using “few colours, principally chosen for the effect they were to produce, of poor quality and very oily; gums employed for colouring which others use for softening; and frugal brushstrokes, applied with intelligence”.4

We may recall that in the 1970s this picture was on the British art market, in the Trafalgar Gallery, catalogued as by an anonymous Roman master of the seventeenth century, influenced by contemporary Bolognese painting. Such an attribution, reflecting an opinion given by Carlo Volpe, can only strengthen what we have said, given our improved knowledge of Crespi’s oeuvre, as there are indeed strong similarities between the early pictures by Crespi and those by artists such as Annibale Carracci and Lanfranco.

Donatella BIAGI MAINO

See R. Longhi, Mostra celebrativa di Giuseppe Maria Crespi, exhibition catalogue, Bologna, 1948, p. 25; the original by Guercino is in the Musée du Louvre, Paris.
G. P. Zanotti, Storia dell’Accademia Clementina di Bologna, 1739; L. Crespi, Felsina Pittrice, vol. III, Bologna, 1769; L. Lanzi, Storia pittorica dell’Italia, Bassano, 1809.
For the works mentioned, see the reproductions in M. P. Merriman, Giuseppe Maria Crespi, Milan, 1980.
L. Lanzi, op. cit., ed. M. Capucci (Florence, 1974), vol. III, p. 125.

Giuseppe Maria Crespi << Retour

L’Arrestation du Christ.
Vers 1687-1690.

Huile sur toile.
75 x 93,5 cm.

Provenance :
. Londres, Trafalgar Gallery.
. France, collection privée.

Ce tableau, de grande qualité et en parfait état de conservation, représente Jésus serré entre ses bourreaux au moment de sa capture, dans une obscurité nocturne que le flambeau porté au premier plan par un des soldats ne parvient pas à éclairer. L’intensité de l’expression du Christ, émotivement et mentalement étranger à l’action parce que conscient de ce que d’ici peu il devra subir, absent, indifférent aux insultes des gardes, est soulignée par le choix de la composition qui resserre dans un espace étroit les protagonistes du drame. L’œuvre est à l’évidence celle d’un peintre de valeur ; un artiste pénétré du sens du récit qu’il doit interpréter, doté d’un talent naturel développé avec intelligence, qui – c’est évident – se manifeste dans l’art de l’invention et la magnifique vérité du rendu, d’une vivacité et d’une sûreté inhabituelles. Qu’on note le contraste, si parlant, entre la teinte chaude de la carnation du Christ, pourtant en partie dans l’ombre, et le ton profond du manteau bleu, de la robe rouge ; ainsi que le pathos que ce schéma de composition resserré dégage en comprimant, dans cet endroit, certes ouvert, mais malgré tout fermé par l’émergence des objets, une scène d’une signification si essentielle pour l’humanité. Les caractéristiques ainsi succinctement énumérées conduisent à attribuer ce splendide tableau au grand talent de Giuseppe Maria Crespi, l’artiste qui, de la fin du XVIIème siècle jusqu’aux années trente du siècle suivant, rendit à Bologne le rôle de premier plan que l’histoire lui avait déjà donné, au temps des Carracci et des Incamminati, deux siècles durant modèle obligé pour tout artiste de talent, non seulement en Italie mais dans toute l’Europe. Il est évident que la matrice culturelle de l’œuvre est entièrement inspirée par le Guerchin, avec son contraste de lumières et d’ombres, la solide construction des formes, la manière même de peindre, avec ces empâtements riches, concrets, à la matière dense ; un maître que Crespi à ses débuts admira au point d’exécuter plusieurs copies de ses toiles les plus célèbres. De fait la copie du tableau du Guerchin représentant l’Extase des saints François et Benoît, qui figura à l’Exposition commémorative de Crespi en 1948 à l’initiative de Roberto Longhi 1 est bien de sa jeunesse, de cette période où le jeune peintre, qui à l’époque partageait son atelier avec Giovanni Antonio Burrini, après son apprentissage auprès de Domenico Maria Canuti et ensuite de Carlo Cignani, expérimentait ce qu’il avait pu apprendre dans ses longues journées d’étude sur ses prédécesseurs de l’école bolonaise, au cours de ses voyages en Vénétie, à Parme et Modène, à Pesaro et Urbino où il se rendit pour étudier, si l’on en croit les écrits de son fils Luigi, de Zanotti et enfin de Lanzi 2. De ces longues études sont nés des tableaux dont le Noli me tangere de la collection Mahon à Londres (fig. 1) – qui partage avec l’œuvre en question la tonalité sombre de la palette, la touche du pinceau – et plus encore le magnifique tableau de l’église de San Salvatore à Bologne, la Prédication du Baptiste (fig. 2), une des premières œuvres auxquelles le jeune et prometteur artiste apporta toute son attention, un véritable chef d’œuvre.

Le trait est identique dans le rendu des drapés, des anatomies des protagonistes des deux épisodes évangéliques ; assez voisine la manière de passer de l’ombre à la lumière sur les deux visages ; et dans la description des personnages au second plan se retrouve la même façon de relever par de brefs traits de pinceau imprégné de blanc les détails à mettre en évidence. Même certaines maladresses évidentes dans la description, par exemple, des mains du Christ, trouvent leur équivalence dans le Baptiste déjà cité ; ainsi par analogie peut-on procéder à la comparaison avec l’extraordinaire retable de San Nicolò degli Albari, le Saint Antoine tenté par les démons (fig. 3), premier succès public de Crespi : il l’exposa en 1690 et il lui fut commandé par Carlo Cesare Malvasia, jusqu’à la fin expert dans la reconnaissance du talent 3.

Je crois qu’il faut situer le tableau de l’Arrestation, qui se qualifie donc comme importante adjonction au catalogue de Crespi, peu avant le Saint Antoine, entre les années 1685 et 1690, la période la plus intensément baroque de ce maître. Il faut encore rappeler ce qu’écrivait sur sa manière de peindre Luigi Lanzi, en termes qu’il ne voulait pas positifs mais qui pour nous restituent la réalité de la matière de cette œuvre : Crespi avait l’habitude d’employer « peu de couleurs, choisies principalement pour l’effet à produire, de mauvaise qualité et très grasses ; des gommes employées pour colorer, que d’autres emploient pour adoucir ; des coups de pinceau parcimonieux appliqués avec intelligence» 4

On se souvient que dans les années soixante-dix l’œuvre était sur le marché anglais de l’antiquité, à la Trafalgar Gallery ; sur un catalogue de vente de cette galerie l’œuvre est attribuée à un maître romain anonyme du XVIIème, influencé par la peinture bolonaise contemporaine. Une telle attribution, qui correspond à un avis de Carlo Volpe, appuie notre proposition, à la lumière d’une meilleure connaissance du catalogue de Crespi, en raison des fortes similitudes des tableaux de jeunesse de Crespi avec l’œuvre, par exemple, d’Annibale Carracci ou de Lanfranco.

Donatella BIAGI MAINO

1 Cf. R. Longhi, Mostra celebrativa di Giuseppe Maria Crespi, catalogue, Bologne, 1948, p. 25 ; l’original du Guerchin est conservé à Paris, Musée du Louvre.
2 G. P. Zanotti, Storia dell’Accademia Clementina di Bologna, Bologne, 1739 ; L. Crespi, Felsina Pittrice, Bologne, 1769, tome III, ; L. Lanzi, Storia pittorica dell’Italia, éd. Bassano, 1809.
3 Pour les tableaux cités : voir leur reproduction dans M.P. Merriman, Giuseppe Maria Crespi, Milan, 1980.
4 L. Lanzi, op. cit., édité sous la direction de M. Capucci, Florence, 1974, vol. III, p. 125.