Defendente Ferrari << Back

Defendente FERRARI
(Chivasso (near Turin), c. 1480/1485 – 1540)

Virgo Lactans (The Virgin Suckling the Child).
Circa 1530.

Oil on walnut wood panel, 33 1/2 x 22 13/16 in (85 x 58 cm).

Provenance :
. Han-Coray collection, Erlenbach (until 1st october 1930).
. Robert Abt collection (until september 1942).
. Sale Fischer, Lucern, 2-5 september 1942, lot n° 1133. . Foresti collection, Milan.

Bibliography :
. Sammlung Han Coray. Gemälde der italienischen, deutschen, niederländischen und spanischen schulen. Mobel plastik und kustgewerbe, under the direction of O. Fischel, Werthaim, Berlin 1930, pp. 26-27, lot n° 7.
. Die Kunstauktion, august 1930, p. 11.
. Anna Maria Brizio in L’Arte, II, 1931, p. 102.
. Grosse Kunstauktion in Luzern, Fischer, 2-5 september 1942, lot n° 1133.
. B. Berenson, Italian Pictures of the Renaissance. Central Italian and North Italian Schools, New York, 1968, I, p. 102.
. L. Mallé, Spanzotti Defendente Giovenone. Nuovi studi, Turin 1971, p. 52 and fig. 69.
. G. Romano, “Orientamenti della pittura casalese da G.M. Spanzotti alla fine del Cinquecento”, in Quarto Congresso di antichità e d’arte, organizzato dalla società piemontese di Archeologia e Belle Arti (20-24 april 1969), Turin, 1974, p. 292, note 20.
. O. Pujmanová, Italian Primitives in Czechoslovak Collections, in “The Burlington Magazine”, vol. CXIX, n. 893, august 1977, p. 547 and fig. 20.
. G. Romano, Opere d’arte e committenti alla Sacra: dal XIV al XVI secolo, in G. Romano (under the direction of), La Sacra di San Michele. Storia Arte Restauri, Turin 1990, note 41 p. 168.
. W. Angelelli, A.G. De Marchi, Pittura dal Duecento al primo Cinquecento nelle fotografie di Girolamo Bombelli, Milan 1991, p. 142, cat. 262.
. G. Romano, in Dizionario biografico degli italiani, XLVI, Rome 1996, pp. 537-540
. S. Baiocco, Gerolamo Giovenone e il contesto della pittura rinascimentale a Vercelli, in E. Villata-S. Baiocco, Gaudenzio Ferrari, Gerolamo Giovenone. Un avvio e un percorso, Turin 2004, pp. 147-220.
. S. Riccardi, Un Defendente biellese disperso, in “Rivista Biellese”, year 12, n. 2, april 2008, pp. 12-16.
. National Gallery in Prague. Italian Painting c. 1330-1550. I. National Gallery in Prague. II. Collections in the Czech Republic. Illustrated Summary Catalogue, under the direction of O. Pujmanová with the collaboration of P. Pribyl, Prague, 2008, p. 92, cat. 39.

This is a depiction of the Virgin Mary breast-feeding the Christ Child, who is shown gently kicking his legs as he lies cradled in his mother’s arms, his head slightly turned and his gaze directed at the beholder; his cheeks, hands and plump little feet have the rosy freshness of an infant’s flesh. Set against a flaming mandorla, the Virgin is cloaked in ample drapery, its original deep blue tonality altered by time but preserved here and there under the darkened surface of the mantle. Her dress is enlivened by wide cuffs that adorn her broad, open sleeves, typical of Ferrari, with a geometrical fragmentation that recalls the prints of Martin Schongauer, a quality apparent since the time of our artist’s youth, when his painting seems indistinguishable from the oeuvre of Martino Spanzotti, as in the Christ Among the Doctors in the Museo Civico at Palazzo Madama, Turin, formerly in the Fontana collection.

The awareness of Northern European art, both Flemish and German, often found in Defendente’s oeuvre, especially in the middle years of his career, and defined by saturated, polished colours, reflects the enduring and seductive impact that Rogier van der Weyden and Antoine de Lonhy could still have, even at this late date, on painting in Turin. Such influence can easily be noted in our panel, too, both in the detailed attention to the warp and weft textures of the gold thread in the cuffs and in the minute description of the reflection and sparkle of the pearls, aquamarines, corundums, rubies and sapphires. Light runs along the indentation of the white fabric that surrounds the Child’s body in a prefiguration of his burial shroud, gently caresses the backs of Mary’s hands and their slender, elongated fingers, lends languor to her gaze, gilds her hair below the white veil and its richly-adorned hem, and glitters on the Child’s metallic locks.

Well known to scholars, the work was illustrated with the correct attribution in the sale catalogue of the important collection of Han Coray at Erlenbach, in Switzerland, where it was recorded by Bernard Berenson. It was auctioned on 1 October 1930 at Wertheim in Berlin and then entered the collection of Robert Abt before being auctioned once again in September 1942 in the Grosse Kunstauktion at Fischer in Lucerne. Its subsequent appearance in the Foresti collection in Milan is implied by annotations on the back of the panel and on the bottom of two photographs of the work, both housed in Florence, in the photographic archives of the Kunsthistorisches Institut (no. 102531) and the Fondazione Roberto Longhi at the Villa Il Tasso, respectively.

The subject of the Virgo Lactans was much favoured in Piedmontese painting of the first half of the sixteenth century, largely owing to the popularity of the Virgin and Child in the central panel of the Polittico dei Calzolai, the altarpiece painted by the Spanzotti workshop for the shoemakers’ chapel dedicated to Saints Orso, Crispin and Crispinian in Turin Cathedral Together with the altarpiece for the Consorzia di San Giovanni Battista (the brotherhood of Saint John the Baptist) – documented in a commission to Spanzotti himself – this work takes us straight to the heart of the questions raised by the elusive appearance of the young Defendente in the workshop of the older painter, and relating to the series of paintings belonging to the so-called Contini-Fontana group, all marked by a clear accent of Spanzotti’s idiom but not directly attributable to the master because of their more accentuated linear qualities and the milder psychological mood of the main figures. These aspects make them ideal starting-points for Ferrari’s career, heralding recurring elements of his future output, defined from 1509 onwards by securely-documented autograph works.

The Polittico dei Calzolai marks the initial moment of this dual collaboration, and is datable to an early period, most likely between 1498, when the renovation of the Duomo in Turin was completed, and 1500, the year Spanzotti returned to Casale, and before he settled in 1502 in Chivasso, Defendente’s native town.

The Madonna in the Turin polyptych was replicated several times by immediate followers of Spanzotti: suffice it to mention the young Giovenone in the Sacra Conversazione in the Johnson Collection of the Philadelphia Museum of Art, or Defendente himself in some of the works he painted for private devotion, such as the panel formerly in the Fontana collection and now in the Palazzo Madama. Outstanding among these for its high quality is the Virgin and Child in the Contini-Bonacossi Collection of the Uffizi Gallery, with the variant composition of the Child turned towards his Mother, inspired by Dürer and defined by a more elaborate taste for dress, achieved through a profusion of gold and a warmer, more saturated palette.

The finest outcome of Defendente’s meditation on the prototype by Spanzotti in Turin Cathedral – and we are still speaking of the first decade of the 1500s – is the central panel of the triptych now on the high altar of the Sacra di San Michele in the Val di Susa, in which the iconography of the Virgo Lactans is combined with that of the Woman of the Apocalypse (and of the Immaculate Conception) in which Mary stands against a golden Mandorla. It was precisely this superlative youthful exploit, both precocious and successful, that constitutes an illustrious precedent – as was recognized at the time by Luigi Mallé – for our panel and for the Virgin and Child in the National Gallery in Prague (inv. no. O11924), attributed to Ferrari by Olga Pujmanová, given its close relationship to the panel “formerly in the Coray Collection at Erlenbach”. The original format of our picture, cropped on all sides at some point in the past and given an arched top that follows the outline of the painted mandorla, can be intuited thanks to the signs left by two horizontal battens on the back of the panel, to which one can add a third which would have been near the bottom, matching the topmost one. This hypothetically larger size suggests that the work originally constituted the central panel of a polyptych resembling the one at San Michele, which also has a full-length Madonna “with the moon under her feet and on her head a crown of twelve stars”, as described in the New Testament (Revelation 12:1-2) and still partly visible around the edge of the strongly-foreshortened halo.

With respect to Defendente’s earlier treatments of the subject, our panel is marked by a distinct and far from banal touch of naturalism in the Child’s left hand, which lifts a fold of the Virgin’s mantle so as to reach her breast more easily. She is surrounded by the flaming red of the mandorla, now paler in parts, that seems to burn around her, changing into yellow, pale blue and aqua green and thus suggesting the effect of a fiery iridescent halo, certainly suited to an Apocalyptic context.

In our Virgin and Child the explicit Spanzottian elements of the panel in Prague yield to a certain softness in the flesh passages and an intense feeling for sentiment which is entirely characteristic of Defendente’s later work, produced in the years around 1530. These are works in which the palette glows more and handling becomes more polished, as in the altarpiece in the Walters Art Gallery, Baltimore, dated by Federico Zeri to the middle years of the painter’s career, the Virgin and Child and Saint Anne in the Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam, signed and dated 1528, and the Virgin and Child with Saints Crispin and Crispinian in San Giovanni in Avigliana, from well into the 1530s. Comparable to this last work is the Virgin and Child between Saints Lawrence and Michael, also at San Michele, painted by Defendente at the end of the 1520s and truly close to the Madonna in our panel, with which it shares the tone of reverie in that tilted head, and the languid, sorrowful gaze. Yet the picture before us transmits a greater chromatic freshness and a more refined handling of ornament, as we can see in the gold decoration on the hem of the Virgin’s white veil, which twirls around her temple and releases a lock of her soft, scarcely tangible hair, made even fairer by the warm light.

Emanuele ZAPPASODI

Defendente Ferrari << Retour

DEFENDENTE FERRARI DA CHIVASSO
(vers 1480-1485 – † après le 12 novembre 1540)

Vierge à l’Enfant allaitant.

Huile sur panneau de noyer, 87,3 x 59 x 3,5 cm
Vers 1530.

Provenance :
. Collection Han-Coray, Erlenbach (jusqu’au 1er octobre 1930).
. Collection Robert Abt (jusqu’en septembre 1942).
. Vente Galerie Fischer, Lucerne, 2-5 septembre 1942, lot n° 1133.
. Collection Foresti, Milan.

Bibliographie :
. Sammlung Han Coray. Gemälde der italienischen, deutschen, niederländischen und spanischen schulen. Mobel plastik und kustgewerbe, sous la direction de O. Fischel, Werthaim, Berlin 1930, pp. 26-27, lot n° 7.
. Die Kunstauktion, août 1930, p. 11.
. Anna Maria Brizio in L’Arte, II, 1931, p. 102.
. Grosse Kunstauktion in Luzern, Fischer, 2-5 septembre 1942, lot n° 1133.
. B. Berenson, Italian Pictures of the Renaissance. Central Italian and North Italian Schools, New York, 1968, I, p. 102.
. L. Mallé, Spanzotti Defendente Giovenone. Nuovi studi, Turin 1971, p. 52 et fig. 69.
. G. Romano, « Orientamenti della pittura casalese da G.M. Spanzotti alla fine del Cinquecento », in Quarto Congresso di antichità e d’arte, organizzato dalla società piemontese di Archeologia e Belle Arti (20-24 avril 1969), Turin, 1974, p. 292, note 20.
. O. Pujmanová, Italian Primitives in Czechoslovak Collections, in “The Burlington Magazine”, vol. CXIX, n. 893, août 1977, p. 547 et fig. 20.
. G. Romano, Opere d’arte e committenti alla Sacra: dal XIV al XVI secolo, in G. Romano (sous la direction de), La Sacra di San Michele. Storia Arte Restauri, Turin 1990, note 41 p. 168.
. W. Angelelli, A.G. De Marchi, Pittura dal Duecento al primo Cinquecento nelle fotografie di Girolamo Bombelli, Milan 1991, p. 142, cat. 262.
. G. Romano, in Dizionario biografico degli italiani, XLVI, Rome 1996, pp. 537-540
. S. Baiocco, Gerolamo Giovenone e il contesto della pittura rinascimentale a Vercelli, in E. Villata-S. Baiocco, Gaudenzio Ferrari, Gerolamo Giovenone. Un avvio e un percorso, Turin 2004, pp. 147-220.
. S. Riccardi, Un Defendente biellese disperso, in “Rivista Biellese”, année 12, n. 2, avril 2008, pp. 12-16.
. National Gallery in Prague. Italian Painting c. 1330-1550. I. National Gallery in Prague. II. Collections in the Czech Republic. Illustrated Summary Catalogue, sous la direction de O. Pujmanová avec la collaboration de P. Pribyl, Prague, 2008, p. 92, cat. 39.

Cette œuvre représente la Vierge allaitant, avec l’Enfant qui gigote dans ses bras. Le visage légèrement tourné vers le spectateur, l’Enfant le regarde, tandis que l’on remarque sa carnation fraîche et enfantine avec ses joues, ses mains et ses petits pieds potelés rougis. Se détachant sur une mandorle flamboyante, la Vierge est revêtue d’un manteau au drapé abondant qui aujourd’hui s’est obscurci, mais qui, à l’origine, était d’un bleu profond — dont témoignent encore plusieurs passages, sous la surface assombrie. Le vêtement est enrichi de larges galons ornant d’amples manches aux plis brisés, avec une géométrie mouvementée qui évoque Martin Schongauer ; cette caractéristique propre à Defendente Ferrari se trouve dès les œuvres de jeunesse du peintre de Chivasso, exécutées dans le droit fil de la production de Martino Spanzotti, telle la Dispute avec les Docteurs du Temple de l’ancienne collection Fontana, aujourd’hui au Palazzo Madama.

La connaissance de l’art de l’Europe du Nord — évidente à plusieurs reprises dans le catalogue de Defendente, surtout lors des années centrales de son activité, caractérisées par une peinture aux tonalités saturées et lustrées — témoigne de la fascination puissante et durable qu’ont exercé, dans la région de Turin, les œuvres de Van der Weyden et d’Antoine de Lonhy. Nous pouvons aisément reconnaître ces influences dans notre tableau, aussi bien dans la description précise de la texture de la chaîne et de la trame du fil d’or des galons que dans le rendu lenticulaire des miroitements et de l’éclat des perles, des aigues-marines, des corindons, des rubis et saphirs. La lumière vacille sur les pans plissés du drap blanc qui ceint le corps de l’Enfant, en une préfiguration du suaire, caresse doucement les mains de Marie aux doigts fins et fuselés, alanguit son regard, dore ses cheveux sous le voile blanc, richement orné d’un ourlet, et pose un éclat métallique sur ceux de l’Enfant.

Cette œuvre, bien connue des historiens d’art, fut présentée avec l’attribution exacte dans le catalogue de vente de la remarquable collection suisse Han Coray, à Erlenbach, où la mentionna aussi Bernard Berenson. Mise aux enchères le 1er octobre 1930 chez Wertheim, à Berlin, elle rejoignit la collection de Robert Abt pour passer de nouveau aux enchères en septembre 1942 dans la Grosse Kunstauktion de Fischer, à Lucerne. Des annotations au verso et sur la marge inférieure de deux photographies du tableau, toutes deux conservées à Florence, respectivement dans la photothèque du Kunsthistorisches Institut (n° 102531) et dans la Photothèque Roberto Longhi de la Villa Il Tasso, attestent aussi d’un passage dans la collection Foresti, à Milan.

Le thème de la Virgo lactans connut un succès considérable dans la production piémontaise de la première moitié du XVIème siècle, grâce à l’influence exercée par la Vierge à l’Enfant du panneau central du Polyptyque de la Compagnie des Cordonniers, réalisé par l’atelier de Martino Spanzotti pour la chapelle des saints Orso, Crispino et Crispiniano, dans la cathédrale de Turin. Avec le retable de la Consorzia di San Giovanni Battista – attribué également à Spanzotti –, cette œuvre nous conduit directement au cœur des problèmes posés par les débuts insaisissables du jeune Defendente au sein de l’atelier du maître de Casale Monferrato, en s’attachant à la série de peintures qui appartiennent au groupe dit Contini-Fontana. Si elles trahissent des accents typiques de Spanzotti, ces œuvres ne sont pas directement attribuables au maître à cause de l’attendrissement psychologique exprimé par les personnages et d’une ligne plus vive. Ces aspects sont autant d’idéales prémices de l’activité de Ferrari, par l’anticipation des caractères récurrents de sa production, étayée dès 1509 par quelques œuvres d’attribution certaine.

Le Polyptyque de la Compagnie des Cordonniers marque l’aurore de cette collaboration à deux, qui se situe tôt, vraisemblablement entre 1498, fin des travaux de restructuration de la cathédrale de Turin, et 1500, année où Spanzotti rentre à Casale Monferrato, avant de s’établir en 1502 à Chivasso, pays de Defendente.

La Vierge du polyptyque turinois fut reprise plusieurs fois dans le sillage immédiat de Spanzotti : il suffit de penser au jeune Giovenone dans la Conversation sacrée de la collection Johnson, à Philadelphie et à Defendente lui-même dans certains tableaux destinés à la dévotion privée, comme celui du Palazzo Madama provenant de la collection Fontana. Parmi ceux-ci, la Vierge du legs Contini-Bonacossi aux Offices se distingue par sa qualité. Elle se caractérise par la variante de l’Enfant tourné vers sa mère, inspirée de Dürer, et par un goût plus poussé pour les vêtements fastueux, se traduisant par une profusion d’or et la saturation d’une palette plus chaude.

La plus belle réalisation de Defendente – résultat de sa profonde méditation sur le modèle réalisé par Spanzotti pour la cathédrale de Turin – est certainement le panneau central du triptyque qui décore aujourd’hui le maître-autel de Saint-Michel-de-la-Cluse, dans le val de Suse. Et nous sommes toujours dans la première décennie du XVIème siècle … Ici, l’iconographie de la Virgo lactans se combine à celle de la Femme de l’Apocalypse (et de l’Immaculée Conception), où Marie est en pied, sur un fond de mandorle dorée. Ce coup d’éclat, si précoce, si réussi, constitue — et Luigi Mallé l’avait bien reconnu en son temps — l’illustre précédent de notre tableau ainsi que de la Vierge à l’Enfant de Prague (Galerie Nationale, n° 011924), attribuée par Olga Poujmanová au peintre de Chivasso, en raison de son lien étroit avec le tableau «  autrefois dans la collection Coray à Erlenbach ». Le format d’origine de notre tableau, coupé avec une réduction sur tous les côtés et un cintrage suivant le profil de la mandorle du fond, peut s’établir grâce aux marques laissées par deux traverses au revers. À celles-ci, il convient d’en ajouter une troisième, placée à la base de la peinture, et répondant à la traverse du haut. Les dimensions ainsi imaginées laissent penser qu’à l’origine cette œuvre devait constituer le panneau central d’un polyptyque similaire à celui de Saint-Michel-de-la-Cluse, où apparaît aussi la Vierge debout, avec la lune sous ses pieds et la tête couronnée des « douze étoiles » dont parle l’Apocalypse (12, 1-2), encore partiellement visibles autour de l’auréole en raccourci.

Si on le compare aux réalisations précédentes de Defendente traitant du même sujet, notre tableau s’en écarte par ce rendu naturaliste, plutôt original, de la main gauche de l’Enfant soulevant un pan du manteau pour atteindre aisément le sein de la Vierge, une Vierge auréolée du rouge flamboyant de la mandorle — aujourd’hui, en partie atténué — qui semble adhérer à elle pour virer ensuite au jaune, à l’azur et au vert d’eau, créant ainsi un effet de halo de feu iridescent, parfaitement adapté à un contexte apocalyptique.

Le style de Spanzotto, dont est fortement empreint le tableau de Prague, laisse la place, dans notre Vierge à l’Enfant, à une certaine douceur dans le rendu des chairs et à un sentimentalisme intense caractéristique de la production plus tardive de Defendente, autour des années 1530. Ce sont des œuvres où la palette s’embrase et la texture devient plus polie : ainsi le retable de la Walters Art Gallery de Baltimore, que Federico Zeri a placé dans la phase médiane de son activité, la Vierge et sainte Anne du Rijksmuseum d’Amsterdam, signée et datée 1528, et la Vierge à l’Enfant avec saints Crespin et Crespinien, dans l’église San Giovanni à Avigliana, exécutée quant à elle dans les années 1530. C’est à cette dernière que s’apparente la Vierge à l’Enfant entourée de saints Laurent et Michel, elle aussi à Saint-Michel-de-la-Cluse. Peinte par Defendente à la fin des années 1520, elle est assurément proche de la Vierge de notre tableau, avec laquelle elle partage l’expression rêveuse du visage représenté de biais et le même regard tendre et mélancolique. Il faut dire cependant qu’une plus grande fraîcheur chromatique transparaît dans notre tableau de l’ancienne collection Coray et que le traitement des ornements y est plus raffiné. C’est évident dans la décoration dorée de l’ourlet du voile blanc, qui s’entortille au-dessus des tempes en laissant échapper une touffe de cheveux soyeux et impalpables, blondis par une chaude lumière.

Emanuele ZAPPASODI