Caracciolo << Back

Giovanni Battista CARACCIOLO, called BATTISTELLO
(Naples, 1578 – 1635)

Adam and Eve mourning the death of Abel.
C. 1616-1620.

Oil on canvas, 56 11/16 x 70 1/16 in. (144 x 178 cm).

Provenance:
Don Niccolò Gaetano, Duke of Laurenzano (in 1743)1.
Naples, Doria d’Angri collection (during Second World War)2.
Rome, Galleria San Marco (prior to 1973).
Private collection.

Literature:
. Maurizio Marini, Pittori a Napoli, 1610-1656: contributi e schede, Rome, Balzoni, 1974, fig. 2 and entry no. 2, pp. 88-89;
. Wolfgang Prohaska, “Beiträge zu Giovanni Battista Caracciolo”, Jahrbuch der Kunsthistorischen Sammlungen in Wien, 74, 1978, p. 238f., especially pp. 304, 308;
. Benedict Nicolson, The International Caravaggesque Movement, 1590-1650, Oxford, Phaidon, 1979, p. 29;
. Giuseppe De Vito, “Un contributo per Filippo Vitale”, in Ricerche sul ’600 napoletano, Milan 1987, pp. 109-110 and figs. 31, 35, 37;
. Benedict Nicolson, Caravaggism in Europe, Turin, Umberto Allemandi, 1990, I, p. 74; II, fig. 551;
. Ferdinando Bologna, Battistello e gli altri. Il primo tempo della pittura caravaggesca a Napoli, in Battistello Caracciolo e il primo naturalism a Napoli, exh. cat., Naples, Castel Sant’Elmo, Chiesa della Certosa di San Martino, 9 November 1991 – 19 January 1992, a cura di Ferdinanco Bologna, Naples, 1991, pp. 15-80 : 137.
. Stefano Causa, Battistello Caracciolo. L’opera completa, Naples, Electa, 2000, p. 194 no. A77, p. 284 fig. 270, p. 346 no. P 49;
. Stefano Causa, in Acquisizioni 2000-2001, exh. cat., Naples, Museo di Capodimonte, 2001, p. 7f.;
. Nicola Spinosa, Les mystères de Naples. Sublime et triviale: la peinture napolitaine, exh. cat., Ajaccio, Musée Fesch, ed. J.-M. Olivesi, 2003, p. 205;
. T. La Marca, in Fierce reality: Italian Masters from Seventeenth Century, exh. cat., Phoenix, Phoenix Art Museum, 2006-2007, p. 52;
. Stefano Causa, in Museo e Gallerie Nazionali di Capodimonte. Le collezioni borboniche e postunitarie. 2. Dipinti del XVII secolo. Scuola napoletana, Naples 2008, p. 67, no. 20;
. Nicola Spinosa, Pittura del Seicento a Napoli, Arte’m, 2010, p. 178, n° 35.
. Giuseppe Porzio, Ricerche battistelliane. 4. Il “Compianto sul corpo di Abele” di Capodimonte e il suo doppio, in “Paragone”, LXII, 733, march 2011, pp. 62-64.

The subject of Adam and Eve Mourning the Death of Abel is rare, though it occurs more frequently in Neapolitan, Spanish and Emilian painting of the early Baroque period. In 1987 Giuseppe De Vito compiled a repertory of a number of paintings with this theme, from these schools (Ricerche sul ’600 napoletano, 1987, figs. 32-41).

A composition of 1604 by Abraham Bloemaert, engraved by Jan Saenredam, probably also influenced Italian versions of the subject (M. Roethlisberger, Abraham Bloemaert and his sons. Paintings and prints, Doornspijk 1993, fig. 132, cat. 77). Two Neapolitan painters in particular treated it in a distinctive manner, Battistello Caracciolo and Filippo Vitale (1589/90-1650), the latter Caracciolo’s junior by about ten years.

The composition presented here is a typical and beautiful work by Caracciolo. It was known to scholars in this field through reproductions published by Maurizio Marini in 1974 (with incorrect dimensions), but had only been seen at first hand by a few art historians, including the present writer.

The monumental group of figures in the foreground, consisting of the first parents lamenting the death of their son Abel is balanced by the silhouette of Cain, shown fleeing in desperation in the far distance. Abel is presented as an image of downed strength, his powerful body described in oblique foreshortening so as to make it more imposing. The scene is violently lit from the left, with light only hitting the figures and leaving the rest of the scene plunged in shadow. The chiaroscuro thus gives a dynamic impetus and precise outlines to figures and forms. The realistic faces of Adam and Eve are truly portrait-like. The movements of Adam and Eve, all but naked like their dead son, become almost frozen, and yet – seen by the viewer from below, in this virtually monochrome approach, and with an extreme simplicity of expression – their pain imposes itself with limitless energy.

Another version of the composition, attributed to Caracciolo, is in the Museo di Capodimonte in Naples, with larger dimensions (181 x 211 cm). This was identified by Nicola Spinosa (Ajaccio 2003) and Stefano Causa (Naples 2008) as the painting mentioned earlier described by De Dominici in the eighteenth century in the collection of the Duke of Laurenzano, but it is clear today that we cannot tell which version – the Capodimonte canvas or the one presented here – was really seen by De Dominici.

This canvas was certainly painted before the date generally proposed (that is, the mid or later 1620s). The dramatic chiaroscuro, bronze flesh tones, and “wilden Angesichter” (“wild expressions”, as Joachim von Sandrart would say in defining the physiognomy of Ribera’s old men) are enough to establish close ties with Ribera, who had just arrived in Naples and settled there in 1616. The date of our painting must therefore be situated in the second half of the 1610s, roughly between 1616 and 1620. Within Caracciolo’s oeuvre, the Madonna d’Ognissanti in Stilo (Calabria), a documented work of 1619, offers an excellent parallel: one need only compare the figure of the dead Abel with the stylistically identical figure in the extreme left foreground in the Stilo altarpiece.

Wolfgang PROHASKA

Gianni Papi offers a very similar analysis of the painting, from which we cite the following excerpts:

[…] This beautiful painting, which has only recently once again come to light, has a substantial scholarly literature. It was first published by Maurizio Marini in 1974, when it was in a private collection in Rome, with the correct attribution to Battistello Caracciolo but with a notable error in dimensions (117.4 x 143.5 instead of 144 x 178 cm). […] The purchase in 2000 by the Museo di Capodimonte in Naples of a second version of the Mourning gave rise to a certain amount of confusion, and one painting was taken for the other (in fact they were considered to be a single work), until the reappearance […] of the canvas discussed here definitively proved that it (the Marini version) could certainly not be confused with the one which had been at Capodimonte for over ten years – a work, moreover, that was altogether poorer and evidently different in certain passages. […]

Our painting is a work of high quality, in excellent condition, and – as far as this writer is concerned – it represents one of the finest creations of Caracciolo’s career, for its refined brushwork, the audacious foreshortening of Abel’s body, and above all the silent, palpable sense of sorrow that pervades the scene in a natural, sincere way that is relatively uncommon in the painter’s choice of iconography and realisations […]. It has a magnificent, extremely balanced arrangement of the scene, with a sense of restraint and composure, and the bright youth and beauty of Abel’s naked body in the foreground accentuates the raw manner of his death, and of his loss. […]

I would not be surprised, therefore, if the dating of this superb canvas […] were to fall close to such paintings as the Saint Onuphrius in the Galleria Nazionale d’Arte Antica in Rome, the Noli me tangere in the Museo Civico di Prato, or the Miracle of Saint Anthony of Padua painted for the church of San Giorgio dei Genovesi in Naples […] – that is, in the period between 1617 and 1619. […]

Gianni PAPI

Caracciolo << Retour

Giovanni Battista CARACCIOLO, dit BATTISTELLO
(Naples, 1578-1635)

Adam et Eve pleurant Abel.
Vers 1616-1620.

Huile sur toile.
144 x 178 cm.

Provenance :
Don Niccolò Gaetano, duc de Laurenzano (en 1743) 1.
Collection Doria d’Angri, Naples (seconde Guerre Mondiale) 2.
Rome, Galleria San Marco (avant 1973).
Collection privée.

Bibliographie :
. Maurizio Marini, Pittori a Napoli, 1610-1656. Contributi e schede, Rome, Bulzoni, 1974 [« Studi », 3], fig. 2 et étude 2, pp. 88-89.
. Wolfgang Prohaska, Beiträge zu Giovanni Battista Caracciolo, in « Jahrbuch der Kunsthistorischen Sammlungen in Wien », 74, 1978, p. 238 sq, en particulier 304, 308.
. Benedict Nicolson, The International Caravaggesque Movement, 1590-1650, Oxford, Phaidon, 1979, p. 29.
. Giuseppe De Vito, « Un contributo per Filippo Vitale », in Ricerche sul ‘600 napoletano. Saggi e documenti per la Storia dell’Arte, Milan, 1987, pp. 105-143 : 110, 131 (fig. 31), 135 (fig. 35), 137 (fig. 37).
. Benedict Nicolson, Caravaggism in Europe, seconde éd. revue et agrandie par Luisa Vertova, Turin, Umberto Allemandi, 1990, [« Archivi di storia dell’arte »] I, p. 74 ; II, fig. 551.
. Ferdinando Bologna, Battistello e gli altri. Il primo tempo della pittura caravaggesca a Napoli, in Battistello Caracciolo e il primo naturalism a Napoli, catalogue de l’exposition, Naples, Castel Sant’Elmo, Chiesa della Certosa di San Martino, 9 nov. 1991 – 19 janvier 1992, sous la direction de Ferdinanco Bologna, Naples, 1991, pp. 15-80 : 137.
. Stefano Causa, Battistello Caracciolo. L’opera completa, Naples, Electa, 2000, p. 194 étude A77, p. 284 fig. 270 et p. 346 n° P 49.
. Stefano Causa, in Acquisizioni 2000-2001, catalogue d’exposition, Naples, Museo di Capodimonte, [« Quaderni di Capodimonte », 20], 2001, pp. 7-8.
. Nicola Spinosa, in Les mystères de Naples. Sublime et triviale : la peinture napolitaine, catalogue d’exposition, Ajaccio, Musée Fesch, éd. J.-M. Olivesi, 2003, p. 205 n° 8. 
. T. La Marca, in Fierce reality: Italian Masters from Seventeenth Century, catalogue d’exposition, Phoenix, Phoenix Art Museum, 2006/2007, p. 52.
. Stefano Causa, in Museo e Gallerie Nazionali di Capodimonte. Dipinti del XVII. La scuola napoletana, sous la direction de N. Spinosa, Naples, 2008. [Le collezioni borboniche e post-unitarie », 2], p. 67 n° 20.
. Giuseppe Porzio, Ricerche battistelliane. 4. Il « Compianto sul corpo di Abele » di Capodimonte e il suo doppio, in « Paragone », LXII, 733, mars 2011, pp. 62-64 et reproduit fig. 44.

Le sujet d’Adam et Eve pleurant Abel est rare, mais se trouve plus fréquemment dans les débuts de la peinture baroque napolitaine, espagnole et émilienne. Giuseppe De Vito a d’ailleurs répertorié en 1987 un certain nombre de tableaux dépeignant cette scène, avec les origines citées (Ricerche sul ‘600 napoletano, 1987, figg. 32-41).
Une composition de 1604 d’A. Bloemaert, gravée par Jan Saenredam, a probablement aussi influencé les versions italiennes du thème (M. Roethlisberger, Abraham Bloemaert and his sons. Paintings and prints, Doomspijk, 1993, fig. 132, cat. 77). Deux peintres napolitains ont en particulier interprété le sujet avec brio : Battistello Caracciolo et Filippo Vitale, ce dernier plus jeune que Caracciolo d’environ une dizaine d’années (1589/90-1650).

La composition présentée ici est une œuvre caractéristique et fort belle de Caracciolo. Elle était connue des initiés par des reproductions dans la publication de Maurizio Marini en 1974 (qui faisait alors état de dimensions erronées), mais n’avait physiquement été vue que par quelques historiens d’art, dont l’auteur de cette étude.

Le groupe monumental de personnages au premier plan avec les parents originels pleurant leur fils mort Abel est contrebalancé par la silhouette de Caïn fuyant avec désespoir dans l’arrière-plan. Abel est présenté comme une image de la force abattue, son corps puissant vu de biais, en raccourci, pour le rendre plus imposant. Une lumière violente vient de gauche, qui n’éclaire que les personnages, laissant le reste de la scène plongé dans l’ombre : les clairs-obscurs donnent ainsi un élan dynamique et construisent les contours précis des êtres et du paysage. Les visages réalistes d’Adam et Eve sont de véritables portraits. Leurs mouvements, alors qu’ils sont quasiment nus, à l’image de leur fils mort, sont comme figés. Et pourtant, vus d’en bas par le spectateur, dans ce tableau presque monochrome, avec cette simplicité extrême d’expression, leur douleur s’impose avec une force incommensurable.

Une autre version de ce tableau, attribuée à Caracciolo, se trouve au Museo di Capodimonte à Naples, de dimensions plus grandes (181 x 211 cm). Nicola Spinosa l’avait identifié (catalogue d’exposition, Ajaccio, 2003), de même que Stefano Causa en 2008, comme le tableau précédemment mentionné vu par De Dominici au XVIIIème siècle dans la collection du duc de Laurenzano, mais il est évident aujourd’hui que l’on ne peut savoir laquelle, de la version de Capodimonte ou de la version ici étudiée, De Dominici a réellement vue.

Le tableau que nous étudions fut certainement peint plus tôt que la date généralement avancée, c’est-à-dire le milieu ou la fin des années 1620 : il suffit de considérer le violent clair-obscur, les tons de bronze des chairs, the « wilden Angesichter » (les « expressions sauvages », comme disait J. von Sandrart pour qualifier les physionomies de vieillards de Ribera) pour comprendre les liens étroits avec Ribera, qui venait d’arriver à Naples et s’y était établi en 1616. La date de notre tableau doit donc se situer dans la seconde moitié de la seconde décade du siècle, c’est-à-dire entre 1616 et 1620 environ. Dans l’œuvre de Caracciolo, la Madonna d’Ognissanti de Stilo (Calabre), documentée en 1619, offre une excellente piste : il suffit de comparer le personnage d’Abel mort avec le personnage stylistiquement identique qui se trouve au premier plan à l’extrême gauche du tableau de Stilo.

Wolfgang PROHASKA

Gianni Papi fait une analyse très similaire du tableau, dont nous reproduisons ci-après quelques extraits :

[…] Ce magnifique tableau, revenu sur le devant de la scène depuis quelques années, possède une importante bibliographie. Lorsqu’il se trouvait dans une collection particulière romaine, Maurizio Marini fut le premier à le publier, en 1974. Il l’attribua, à juste titre, à Battistello Caracciolo, mais donna une indication erronée concernant ses dimensions (117,4 x 143,5 cm, au lieu de 144 x 178 cm). […] L’acquisition en 2000, par le Museo di Capodimonte à Naples, d’une seconde version de Adam et Eve pleurant Abel a suscité une certaine confusion entre les deux tableaux (au point qu’on les considéra comme un seul), jusqu’à ce que la réapparition […] de l’œuvre en question prouve définitivement que celle-ci (la version Marini) ne pouvait en aucun cas être confondue avec celle – par ailleurs de qualité inférieure et avec des différences notables – qui se trouvait depuis plus de dix ans à Capodimonte.[…]
L’œuvre est de grande qualité et en excellent état de conservation ; elle représente, du moins aux yeux de l’auteur de ces lignes, une des plus belles réussites dans la carrière de Caracciolo, à cause du raffinement de la touche, de l’audace du raccourci du corps d’Abel, et surtout du sentiment de douleur, silencieux et palpable, dans lequel baigne la scène. Le résultat, naturel et spontané – ce qui n’est pas si fréquent dans l’iconographie et les réalisations du peintre – […] est une mise en scène splendide et merveilleusement équilibrée, emplie de retenue et de dignité, avec la jeunesse éclatante et la beauté du corps nu d’Abel, au premier plan, qui accentuent la cruauté de sa mort, de sa perte. […]
Je ne serais donc pas étonné si cette très belle toile pouvait être datée, […] à l’instar, par exemple, du Saint Onofrius de la Galleria Nazionale d’Arte Antica de Rome, du Noli me tangere du Museo Civico de Prato, ou du Miracle de saint Antoine de Padoue, peint pour l’église de San Giorgio dei Genovesi à Naples, […] vers 1617-1619 […].

Gianni PAPI