Exhibition 2015 << Back

« Italian masterpieces – 14th and 15th centuries » - April 23rd to July 30th 2015

This new exhibition of Italian painting of the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, following that dedicated to Italian Caravaggesque painters, enables us to return to the field that has earned us an international reputation.

Twenty-three paintings, presented by region, allow us to define the particular features of each one of these cultural areas.

TUSCANY:

This is without question the best-known region of Italy, with its twin poles, Florence and Siena.
Florence inaugurated a new language during the fourteenth century, established by Giotto as a reaction to the Byzantine tradition and its rigid, schematic idiom. This was brought to life by a clearer sense of space and a more coherent and rational expression of volume. The polyptych by GIOVANNI DEL BIONDO presented here is a magnificent example of this innovation. The great ANDREA DI NERIO, who was the leading figure of the School of Arezzo, shows his perfect assimilation of these principles in a delightful predella panel with The Visit of the Holy Family to Saint Elizabeth and the Young Saint John the Baptist.
The fifteenth century saw the emergence of Masaccio, whose frescoes in the Brancacci Chapel show a clean break with what came before: the elimination of ornament, grace and elegance of the Late Gothic style, and the construction of forms through a play of shadow and light, as well as profoundly expressive faces.
At the same moment Gentile da Fabriano took command of naturalism and courtly elegance, and the city of Florence earned a predominant role also thanks to great artists such as Fra Angelico and Filippo Lippi. The imposing Sacra Conversazione by NERI DI BICCI was the outcome of these varied influences.
During the 1460s, drawing, the study of anatomy and a taste for Classical Antiquity evolved within the workshops of Pollaiolo and Verrocchio, and students of the latter included Leonardo da Vinci, Perugino, Botticelli, Ghirlandaio and Signorelli. It is this realm of influence that led to the rare Battle by the MASTER OF MARRADI, as well as the later Leda and the Swan by BACHIACCA, which was inspired by a prototype by Leonardo.
In Siena, after 1430, Sassetta was the only painter to create a combination of local heritage and Florentine innovation, followed by the young SANO DI PIETRO.
The visionary language of the great Giovanni di Paolo, and then the subtle art of Vecchietta, among others, led Sienese painting into the Renaissance period, and Siena was further enriched by the presence of the highly original Liberale da Verona and Girolamo da Cremona. The Virgin and Child by BENVENUTO DI GIOVANNI, in which the drapery seems carved out of marble, reflects these new directions.

EMILIA-ROMAGNA:

Giotto’s presence in Rimini at the beginning of the fourteenth century fostered an exceptional development of local art. The reaction to his legacy was a forthright, expressive realism, occasionally tinged with tenderness, and given especially memorable form by Vitale da Bologna. Vitale was to leave a lasting impression on the next generation, which followed in his wake in the city of Bologna, with works painted in an unfettered and original style. Evidence of this can be seem in two other magnificent works exhibited here: the Madonna of Humility by ANDREA DA BOLOGNA, dated 1372, in which the artist’s concern for ornament resulted in a sumptuous depiction of the Virgin seated between the moon and sun; and the signed Coronation of the Virgin by SIMONE DEI CROCIFISSI, an important unpublished addition to this master’s oeuvre.

THE VENETO:

Here too the beginning of the fourteenth century was marked by a sojourn by Giotto, this time in Padua. Painting in the Veneto would profit from this by a new use of colour, particularly through the expression of chiaroscuro.
PAOLO VENEZIANO is the most important painter of the period between 1330 and 1360, combining powerful facial expression and novel iconography – in this case the remarkable cosmic rings that encircle the Agnus Dei like a blue majolica plate.
The Veronese painter ALTICHIERO uses the lesson of Giotto to begin his search for a new language and a new form of realism, set within highly complex architectural decoration. His Virgin and Child presented here is one of only three known works on wood panel, and therefore extremely rare.

PIEDMONT:

The first half of the fifteenth century saw the ripening of an international language in Piedmont, nourished by Burgundian art and works by Rogier van der Weyden, introducing a subtle naturalism, expressive intensity and a refined sense of colour.
It was essentially Giovanni Martino Spanzotti who made a lasting impression on the painters of the first half of the next century such as Gaudenzio Ferrari – who was later active in Vercelli and Varallo – and DEFENDENTE FERRARI. The latter’s work comprises a brilliant and highly refined blend of the last touches of the Late Gothic style and the mannerism of the Northern Renaissance.

LOMBARDY:

This region, too, under the dominion of the Visconti, developed an international language, owing to multiform influences, both French and Northern European.
Trained in Pavia, Gentile da Fabriano worked in the Chapel of the Broletto in Brescia; and Pisanello, Bonifacio Bembo and Vincenzo Foppa prompted a totally new language, receptive to the principles of the Renaissance. The two latter painters, like the MASTER OF MIRASOLE, presented here, nonetheless remained loyal to a “natural” poetic universe.

LIGURIA:

Painting of the second half of the fourteenth century in Liguria grew around the art of Barnaba da Modena, who was active in Genoa from at least 1360 onwards, and was influenced by the constant presence of Piedmontese artists.
Within the substantially conservative context of this region in the first twenty years of the fifteenth century, and after a sojourn in Naples, ANDREA DE ASTE (The Crucifixion) developed an international idiom. He was a significant representative of the Late Gothic era in Genoa.

ROME AND LAZIO:

At the end of the 1420s, the leading figures of Italian painting of this period – Gentile da Fabriano, Masaccio, Masolino – were all in the Eternal City. Their interaction with Roman Antiquity fostered a language one could define as uncompromising. Composition and iconography were still tied to medieval canons, and the gravity and solemnity of ancient art endured, as one can see in the Mystic Marriage of Saint Catherine by TUCCIO DI GIOFFREDO DA FONDI.

THE MARCHES:

During the 1420s, the impact of the prestigious art of Gentile da Fabriano was ubiquitous. Echoes of his art appear especially in Pietro di Domenico da Montepulciano and PAOLO DA VISSO. The latter was one of those Marchigian painters who worked in several other regions. In the cassone front presented here, the architectural features of the buildings and the explosion of pink are typical of the art of the Marches.

>> View photos

Catalogue

Catalogue - 35 euros

Exposition 2015 << Retour

« Chefs-d’œuvre italiens – XIV et XVème siècles » - Du 23 avril au 30 juillet 2015

Cette nouvelle exposition sur la peinture italienne des XIVeme et XVeme siècles nous permet, après celle sur « Les Caravagesques Italiens », de revenir à la spécialité qui nous a fait connaître dans le monde entier.

Vingt-trois tableaux, présentés par régions, permettent de cerner les traits particuliers de chacune d’entre elles.

LA TOSCANE :

Sans doute la région la plus connue avec les deux pôles que sont Florence et Sienne.
Au XIVème siècle, Florence apporte un langage nouveau, élaboré par Giotto en réaction contre la tradition byzantine et ses modèles rigides et schématiques. Il est animé d’une définition plus claire de l’espace et d’un rendu des volumes plus cohérent et plus rationnel. Le polyptyque de GIOVANNI DEL BIONDO que nous présentons en est un magnifique exemple. Le grand ANDREA DI NERIO, chef de file de l’école d’Arezzo, montre dans sa délicieuse prédelle, La Visite de la Sainte Famille à sainte Élisabeth et au jeune saint Jean Baptiste, qu’il a parfaitement assimilé ces nouveautés.
Le XVème siècle voit l’arrivée de Masaccio qui, dans ses fresques de la chapelle Brancacci, crée une fracture nette : il élimine les ornements, la grâce, l’élégance du gothique tardif, construit les formes par le jeu des ombres et des lumières et donne de l’expressivité aux visages.
Au même moment Gentile da Fabriano apporte naturalisme et élégance courtoise. La ville de Florence acquiert un rôle artistique de premier plan grâce aux grands artistes qui s’y installent, comme Fra Angelico et Filippo Lippi. L’imposante Sacrée Conversation de NERI DI BICCI résulte de ces diverses influences.
Dans les années soixante, le dessin, l’étude anatomique, le goût pour l’antiquité se développent dans les ateliers de Pollaiolo et de Verrocchio ; de ce dernier sortiront entre autres Léonard de Vinci, Pérugin, Botticelli, Ghirlandaio et Signorelli. Dans cette lignée se situe la rare Bataille du MAÎTRE DE MARRADI, ainsi que la Léda et le cygne de BACHIACCA, inspirée d’un modèle de Léonard de Vinci.
A Sienne, après 1430, Sassetta fut le seul à faire la synthèse de l’héritage siennois et des nouveautés florentines, suivi par le jeune Sano di Pietro.
Le langage visionnaire du grand Giovanni di Paolo, puis l’art subtil de Vecchietta entre autres, feront entrer la peinture siennoise dans la période de la Renaissance, enrichie aussi par l’apport original de Liberale da Verona et Girolamo da Cremona. La Vierge à l’Enfant de BENVENUTO DI GIOVANNI, dont les vêtements semblent sculptés dans le marbre, reflète ces orientations.

L’EMILIE-ROMAGNE :

La présence de Giotto à Rimini au début du XIVème siècle permit un développement artistique exceptionnel dans cette ville. La réaction à sa leçon sera un réalisme rude et expressif, parfois teinté de tendresse, notamment mis en œuvre par Vitale da Bologna. Ce dernier influencera durablement la génération suivante, qui poursuivra son développement dans la ville de Bologne, d’une manière libre et originale, comme en témoignent entre autres deux magnifiques œuvres de l’exposition : la Vierge d’Humilité d’ANDREA DA BOLOGNA, datée 1372, où l’extrême souci ornemental de l’artiste produit une représentation somptueuse de cette Vierge assise entre la lune et le soleil ; le Couronnement de la Vierge, tableau inédit et signé de SIMONE DEI CROCIFISSI, constitue un ajout d’importance à son œuvre.

LA VÉNÉTIE :

Le XIVème siècle s’ouvre ici encore avec le séjour de Giotto, cette fois à Padoue. La Vénétie, elle, en retiendra surtout une utilisation nouvelle de la couleur, particulièrement dans l’expression du clair-obscur.
PAOLO VENEZIANO est le plus important peintre des années 1330 à 1360. Il combine l’expressivité du visage et une iconographie nouvelle – comme ici l’étonnant plat rond en majolique représentant l’Agnus Dei sur un fond azur.
Le véronais ALTICHIERO part de la leçon de Giotto à la recherche d’un nouveau langage et d’un nouveau réalisme, dans un décor architectural d’une grande complexité. La Vierge à l’Enfant ici présentée est l’une de ses trois œuvres connues sur panneau, et donc d’une extrême rareté.

LE PIÉMONT :

Dans la première moitié du XVème siècle mûrit dans le Piémont un langage international alimenté par les œuvres de la Bourgogne et de Rogier van der Weyden qui introduisent un naturalisme subtil, une intense expressivité et un chromatisme raffiné.
C’est essentiellement Giovanni Martino Spanzotti qui exerça un ascendant durable sur les peintres de la première moitié du siècle suivant comme Gaudenzio Ferrari – ensuite actif à Vercelli et Varallo – et DEFENDENTE FERRARI. Dans l’œuvre de ce dernier se mêlent de manière brillante et fort raffinée les prolongements du gothique tardif et le maniérisme de la Renaissance du Nord.

LA LOMBARDIE :

Dans cette région aussi, sous le gouvernement des Visconti, se développe un langage international à partir de la pluralité des influences, française et nordique.
Gentile da Fabriano, formé à Pavie, travaille à la chapelle del Broletto à Brescia ; Pisanello, Bonifacio Bembo et Vincenzo Foppa sont les initiateurs d’un langage totalement nouveau qui s’ouvre sur la Renaissance. Ces deux derniers, comme le MAÎTRE DE MIRASOLE, présenté dans l’exposition, restent cependant attachés à un univers poétique « naturel ».

LA LIGURIE :

La peinture de la seconde moitié du XIVème siècle en Ligurie s’est articulée autour de Barnaba da Modena, actif à Gênes au moins à partir de 1360, et de la présence constante de peintres piémontais.
Dans le panorama substantiellement conservateur de la peinture de cette région durant les vingt premières années du XVème siècle, ANDREA DE ASTE (Crucifixion), après un séjour à Naples, développa un langage international. Il fut un important représentant du gothique tardif à Gênes.

ROME ET LE LATIUM :

A la fin des années 1420, Rome avait chez elle les principaux protagonistes de la peinture italienne de cette période : Gentile da Fabriano, Masaccio, Masolino, Fra Angelico. La confrontation avec l’antiquité romaine a cependant engendré un langage que l’on pourrait qualifier de plus sévère. La composition et les thèmes iconographiques sont encore attachés à la tradition médiévale, la gravité et la solennité des modèles antiques sont conservés, comme le montre le Mariage mystique de sainte Catherine de TUCCIO DI GIOFFREDO DA FONDI.

LES MARCHES :

Dans le cours des années 1420, le prestige de l’art de Gentile da Fabriano s’impose partout. Des échos de son art se retrouvent notamment chez Pietro di Domenico da Montepulciano et PAOLO DA VISSO. Ce dernier fait partie de ces peintres originaires des Marches qui se déplacent pour travailler dans plusieurs autres régions. Sur le devant de coffre ici présenté les caractéristiques architectoniques des bâtiments et l’explosion de rose sont typiques de l’art des Marches.

>> Voir les photos

Catalogue

Catalogue - 35 euros